Besan Ladoo

Standard

This was my first Diwali abroad and I had no clue about Indian sweet shops in Wellington (I finally found one yesterday). And what’s Diwali without sweets eh!!!! Though I had a packet of ‘ready to make’ Gulab  Jamun mix at home, I decided to give it a miss. The other options were – kheer or besan ladoo – And since I had a jar of Besan/gramflour at home I gave it a try and ended with great ladoos.

Besan Ladoo

Source:Besan Ladoo

Makes about 16 ladoos

Ingredients: 

  • 1 1/2 cups gram flour (besan)
  • 2 tablespoons semolina flour (fine sooji)
  • 1/2 cup melted clarified butter (ghee)
  • 3/4 cups sugar (I used less)
  • 4 tablespoons sliced almonds (badam)
  • 1/4 teaspoons coarsely grounded cardamom seeds (Elaichi)
  • 1 tablespoons sliced pistachios for garnishing (I did not have any so used sliced almonds)

Here’s how I made it:

  1. Mix besan (gram flour), sooji, and melted butter on medium heat and begin to roast  until the besan becomes light golden brown in colour and the raw aroma of besan disappears..  Stir the mixture continuously with a spatula to prevent it from burning.
  2. Remove the pan from the heat and let the mixture cool a little but take care not to let it cool to room temperature.
  3. While the mixture is still warm add the cardamom seeds, almonds and sugar.
  4. When it is warm enough to handle, take about 2 tablespoons of the warm besan mixture  and shape it into ping pong ball sized/lime sized smooth, round balls. Add a little ghee if your mixture is too powdery and does not hold shape.
  5. Garnish with sliced pistachios or sliced almonds like I did 🙂
  6. Allow it to cool and then transfer to an airtight container. It can be stored for 2 to 3 weeks.

This recipe makes for pretty impressive ladoos, and my hubby has now pleaded for one his favourites – coconut/nariyal ladoos. Anyone has a tried n tested recipe???? 😀

Just a thing to note – There will be a little smell of besan on the first day, but it will gradually fade away.

Hope you all had a great Diwali…

4 responses »

  1. I’m pretty new at this place and adore the design, could you let me know me where you bought this theme? You can contact me on my e-mail…looking forward to hear from you
    My website is [url=http://www.businesstraveltours.com]Travel Tips[/url].

  2. Great post. My visitors have been asking about this, do you mind if I re-print this on my site here? I will of course give full credit to this site, and I will link to you if you like. Thanks.

Leave a comment